Norton Antivirus issue again

Post any software related questions or comments here. This is also the place to ask for help if you can't figure out how to do something in Wave59.
Post Reply
en1940
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:41 pm
Location: Homeless
Contact:

Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by en1940 » Sat Apr 02, 2022 11:32 am

Hi Earik,

Norton antivirus does not like W59 again. If I hit "fix" button - it does remove the exe file
Regards,
Ev
Attachments
2022-04-02_07-04-07.jpg
2022-04-02_07-04-07.jpg (145.25 KiB) Viewed 1289 times

en1940
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:41 pm
Location: Homeless
Contact:

Re: Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by en1940 » Sat Apr 02, 2022 11:48 am

Finding all sorts of threats
Attachments
2022-04-02_07-46-18.jpg
2022-04-02_07-46-18.jpg (73.15 KiB) Viewed 1287 times

User avatar
kmorgan
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by kmorgan » Sat Apr 02, 2022 5:37 pm

Hi,

Had the same issue with Panda Dome a couple of weeks ago.

Earik explained:

Virus scanner? Try turning that off, then see if you can run W59. If so, then you just have to whitelist it in the security stuff and you’ll be good to go. There’s no virus in there, but to mess with hackers, we do have quite a bit of scrambled spaghetti code (got to make their lives interesting, after all), and virus scanners tend to get upset when they see that.

Earik

I turned off the AV, re-installed W59, and added the program file to the AV exclusion list. I then turned the AV back on, rebooted, and all is well.

Kim

User avatar
earik
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by earik » Mon May 16, 2022 7:43 pm

I'm a little late to this, but yeah, what Kim said. ;)

Just to be clear: there are no viruses, it's just false alarms thanks to some of the security stuff. I might have piled it on too high with the last build, so maybe will try and ease up a bit on the next one. My preference would be to just ditch all that sort of thing altogether and not worry about pirates, but, as some folks here might recall, I was loosey-goosey once and some guy cracked the software and was ballsy enough to set up his own competing website, which was completely irritating, so nowadays I like to at least try and mess with them a little. Unfortunately, it does have some side effects, like this virus scanner thing... (Sorry)

Earik

dctommy
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by dctommy » Fri Sep 23, 2022 3:06 am

I just loaded Norton and what do you know....W59.exe gone

How do I get the file to re-load?

dctommy

User avatar
earik
Site Admin
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Norton Antivirus issue again

Post by earik » Tue Sep 27, 2022 5:28 pm

Norton deleted the .exe, thinking it had a virus. You have to reinstall to get that back.

There are times when I wonder if it's worth the trouble to put all the security stuff in there, but then I remember that one guy who set up a website with wave59 in the name, a bunch of stolen copy from our site, and was selling cracked versions of the software and hesitate. Then I think of those Eminiforecaster guys who resold the Natal Forecast as a monthly timing service using their own cracked copy, and that just makes me want to add more. I haven't gone so far as putting in logic along the lines of "if cracked software detected, delete all data on c: drive", but I've definitely though about it from time to time. :x

Earik

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest